Organizational Committee

Whit Adamson

Tommy Bragg

Larry Burriss

Rob Clutter

Doug Combs

Jim Demos

Peter Demos

Deborah Fisher

Jim Freeman

Ron Fryar

Frank Gibson

Jimmy Hart

Mona Herring

John Hood

Ed Kimbrel

Rick Mansfield

Roy L. Moore

Andrew Oppmann

H. Hooper Penuel Jr.

Mike Pirtle

Bart Walker

Dan Whittle



Recognizing individuals who have demonstrated outstanding skill in their Journalism field”

Welcome to the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame (TJHOF) website. Look around, take your time and enjoy the visit. We’re just getting started with a vision created in 2010 by several practicing Journalists, retired professionals in the field, officials from Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU), Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce, business officials, and others interested in promoting proper recognition of Tennessee Journalists, living or deceased, native or non-native who chose Tennessee as their home, for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the filed of Journalism.


Inductees into the TJHOF will be individuals who have made significant and substantial contributions to the profession during a career that includes the practice of Journalism in print, broadcast and new media. Honorees may be living or deceased, native Tennesseans who spent much of their career out of state or non-natives who spent a substantial portion of their career in Tennessee. To be considered for induction, individuals must have distinguished themselves through news or business management, leadership in the industry, or in the ordinary practice of Journalism, and those whose contributions have otherwise been recognized by their peers. Inductees will come from various ranks to include, reporters, writers, editors, publishers, news directors and other managers and those who have excelled in advertising, public relations and education in those disciplines.


Thank you for your time. Come back often. You may just see your name as the most recent inductee into the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame!



Journalism Hall of Fame to honor 9 members posthumously

Nominations for 2016 should be submitted by June 1, 2016. 


TJHOF seeks qualified mominees for 2016 Hall of Fame

MURFREESBORO — The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame will honor nine pioneering print and broadcast journalists in ceremonies Tuesday August 11, 2015 at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center in Murfreesboro.

The 2015 class includes two generations of Middle Tennessee newspaper publishers – a father and son, the latter becoming a Tennessee statesman and reformer responsible for passing Tennessee’s open meetings (“sunshine”) law; a nationally-syndicated sports columnist from Murfreesboro whose contributions to sports resonate decades after his death; a trailblazing woman who started in newspapers before switching to become a respected and colorful broadcast political reporter; a native Virginian who landed in Tennessee to cover the South and civil rights for The New York Times and stayed; a nationally-recognized editorial cartoonist who practiced his wit and biting commentary in three of the state’s four largest cities; two community newspaper publishers, one a small-town dairyman who grew his rural newspaper from scratch through merger, and another whose bigger-city publishing career traces back to an advertising sheet he started to promote his grocery business; and, a native Texan and veteran wire service executive who practiced journalism on various platforms.

This will be the third class of inductees but the first in which all recipients are being recognized posthumously.

The Hall of Fame is centered in the John Bragg Mass Communications Building at Middle Tennessee State University.

The induction will come in conjunction with the 67st annual Tennessee Association of Broadcasters conference. WSMV-TV news anchor Demetria Kalodimos, the Nashville NBC affiliate’s longest continuously-serving principal anchor, will emcee the program. It begins at 4:30 p.m.


2015 Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame class to honor 9 journalists posthumously

The 2015 TJHoF Induction Ceremony Program and Selectee Bios